Gasser HotRod Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just found out that a class that I have been racing in for 8 seasons has been cancelled for the 2015 season. The Hemi bracket/Modern Mopar class ( Etown)has seen a reduction in numbers the past few years but I didn't expect it to go away so soon. We had a modern hemi class with the NMCA for 5 seasons / that was eliminated in 2014. Unfortunately the Modern Hemi doesn't have the following or aftermarket support the LS and Coyote do.

·
Registered
157 Posts
That's a bummer. Hopefully, there is another class that you can fit smoothly into.

I have noticed the same thing with the lacking aftermarket support for the Hemi engine when compared to the LS and Coyote motors. Personally, I wouldn't mind doing something different, but the lack of aftermarket support doesn't make it easy. Although, I suppose if there was a big aftermarket following, it wouldn't be "doing something different".

·
Administrator
13,414 Posts
I haven't followed modern drag racing classes. Does the track also have a special class for LS and Coyote powered cars? I personally find it odd that any track would have a special class for a certain brand of engine. Sure never saw a SBC, SBF, or SBM class in years past.

·
Registered
7,423 Posts
I think with the stringent noise restrictions they face they were probably targeting the popular late model muffled performance classes. One of the reasons I didn't bring the coupe to a national speedway reunion. Mufflers on Saturday were a must. So trailer my car 150 miles over 2 bridges and tolls up the kazoo. Just not worth it.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I haven't followed modern drag racing classes. Does the track also have a special class for LS and Coyote powered cars? I personally find it odd that any track would have a special class for a certain brand of engine. Sure never saw a SBC, SBF, or SBM class in years past.