Gasser HotRod Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm trying to figure out what to do to my Henry J for steering & I'm looking for advice.
What my car has right now is the stock steering with the stock frame. I'm trying to figure out what to put on it.
This car will be a street driven car. I'm looking to go with the best least expensive setup I can do.
I have the oportunity took get my dad's old Henry J that has a straight axle under it with leaf springs. I can buy the whole car for around $200-$300 but then I have to transport it down here.
What are you guys using? I've heard about Econoline front axles but didn't know how hard they would be to find? What setup is best for the street? What all do I need to make this work?
I'm new to the Gasser scene so I'm going to need some help here. Fabrication skills are not a limit because I've built plenty of race cars.
I can post the pictures of what I can from dad's old car if you'll would like?
A friend of mine has been trying to talk me into putting an S10 frame under it but I told him I thought that would be a waste because I still want to go with a straight axle.
I want to try & use salvage yard parts here.

·
Administrator
13,524 Posts
Same here! If it already has a straight axle it's not original Henry J, so it's been changed. Like to see what it is, and make a suggestion after that. Any Henry J that's salvageable is worth the price you're getting it for.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The car I'm using has all the stock suspension on it. I can buy my dad's old Henry J which has a straight axle already under it.

·
Administrator
13,524 Posts