Gasser HotRod Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Mallory Dual Point Distributor for Cadillac 500

We did this about six months ago but I thought some of you might find it interesting.

We decided to do something different for my Cadillac 500 engine. We took a stock hei and carved off the bottom of it and mated it to a Mallory dual point distributor. The following pictures are the process we used to put the two of them together. I wanted to get rid of the look of the hei on the front of the engine and to have something that's a little different. Does anyone see any problems with this? I am planning on running with the dual points with a MSD 6A box. (I have been running this now for about four months. The engine runs better now then it ever has. It has more power and on a recent 350 mile trip I got 17 mpg.)

Keith

Here's the Cadillac hei chucked up in the lathe.

We weren't sure how much of the shaft we were going to have to use so we initially cleaned off all the extra castings above the distributor hold down.

The Mallory center shaft was larger at the bottom where it goes through the bushing in the Cadillac housing so we had to turn it down to fit.

This is the Mallory distributor chucked up.

We turned the area that will be inserted into the Cadillac housing base down, before we cut it off to length.

This is the Cadillac distributor base that we are cutting off just above the hold down plate.

We drilled out the base to just under one inch so the Mallory upper portion of the distributor slid inside.

Here's the Mallory upper portion of the distributor and the Mallory center shaft along with the Cadillac lower machined and ready to weld.

Here is the distributor all welded together. The overall height will be a little shorter than the stock hei.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·