Gasser HotRod Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m new to all of this so please bear with me. I was born and raised around hot rods and customs, always was intrigued by the gasser and street freaks when I was a kid. I’ve had several hot rods and mini trucks…don’t hate me for that 😂 I currently own a collision shop in central Ohio and have an amazing crew of people that work with me! Anyhow, I picked up a project car for one of our builds in between insurance work. It a ‘61 Falcon, mostly complete but already stripped and has a title 👍 not sure how I wanted to go with this one, but as soon as I saw it I thought “gasser” is the first thing I thought of and hasn’t left my head since. I have a 351C and C6 that came with the car, but condition of the block is unknown, also have access to a 390FE and C6 connected to it. Someone put in new floors in it, trunk floor is out of it. I am thinking we are going to build a frame table cut everything out and start fresh. ANY suggestions of where this build should go would be greatly appreciated! This is going to be a street driven occasion car show build and then back to the collection when parked. I have plenty of time to start collecting parts, as I have the S10
Shop truck to finish soon and then my wife’s 77 Benz 450sl project
Thanks everyone!
Jimmy
Vehicle Automotive lighting Car Hood Motor vehicle
Car Tire Vehicle Automotive tire Hood
Car Land vehicle Vehicle Tire Wheel

·
Administrator
13,524 Posts
Welcome to the forum!
Looks like the perfect start for a gasser project, and Falcons seem to be a popular choice to build a gasser. Either engine and trans will be a good choice, but the larger FE 390 will be more impressive to see in the Falcon. If it's a buildable block it will make a great choice. But will likely take more frame reinforcement if the 390 is well built than the 351 would take.