Gasser HotRod Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey Guys, anyone have any tips/advice on a wiend tunnel ram and dual holley 4 barrel setup on a big block chevy. My car is a 1956 Chevy straight front axle.
I will be using it for drag racing only, mostly nostalgia, some bracket.
12 bolt 4:88 gears, PG and 4500 stall, BBC 13:1, brodix heads, solid cam.
I have many years experience with single 4 barrel.
I have no idea where to start with twins.
I have 2 850 cfm holleys I would like to use.
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks
Glen

·
Administrator
13,308 Posts
Welcome to the forum!
Two 850's huh? That's a lot of air, even for a well built BBC, and might add some tuning issues to the mix! To start be sure the carbs work simultaneously. Dual quads on a low rise like progressive linkage, but tunnel rams will lean out on some cylinders if they aren't simultaneously opened.
I ran into all the issues when trying to get my tunnel ram working. Had to change the accelerator pumps from the stock 30cc to 50 cc, then change the pump cams to get a quicker shot. I also changed the squirters to a larger 35 to get a better shot, and had to fool with the timing to get it to be advanced enough to work with the tunnel ram. Once I got all the changes made it actually runs really well.
With those big 850's I'd give it a run stock to start, and if it stumbles at low end I'd swap the squirter nozzles first. If that doesn't overcome low end stumble, then I'd swap the accelerator pumps/cams.

·
Registered
2,322 Posts