Gasser HotRod Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here is my next project. I might have bit off more than I can chew, its quite rusty. Its has Fred Flintstone floorboards. I bought it from a friend of mine who is having health problems and realized he would never get around to working on it. I tapped around on the front and rear frame rails and they seem solid, they seem to be made of different metal than the rest of the unibody, are they galvanized or something. I have started tear down but am really just in the planning stages of this project. I do know that I want to connect the front and rear frame rails with rectangular tubing then adding a 6 point roll cage, also a 1 piece fiberglass tilt front end.
As far as powertrain I am open, I'm a retired Ford mechanic and my old work pals would think its sacrilegious to put a Chevy engine in Ford but my son has a 540 Merlin in his boat and its an amazing power plant. Since I am starting from scratch and have to buy everything I,m looking for recommendations on straight axles, fiberglass components, roll cage kits etc.

Attachments

·
Administrator
13,197 Posts
Looks like a pretty decent car to start with. Rusted out floors aren't bad to fix if the rockers and unibody is in good shape.
There's a chrome straight axle for sale that might be close to you, and would make an excellent choice for your Falcon! It's 52" to kingpin centers, which would be 60" to hubs, and at $300 I think it's an excellent buy.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/gasserparts/permalink/2912937415608863

Most axles like the 50's Chevy truck are too wide, as is the Econoline axle. The early Ford trucks might be narrower, but betting they aren't. A Speedway tube axle can be ordered to the width you need, but pretty spendy in my opinion.