Gasser HotRod Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought a 55 Fairlane pretty much stock, I have never done a gasser before and thought this body style would make a neat gasser. Does anyone know if there are any mods that need to be done to the frame or if it is even possible with this? Thanks for any help.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, just picked up a chevy straight axle for it, Ill mess with it this week to see how much work is needed.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well, axle didn't fit, way to short. looks like I will try and replace the 3" drop coils with some heavy duty coils and try and raise the front that way. Now the challenge will be to find the coils!!

·
Registered
2,277 Posts
Well, axle didn't fit, way to short. looks like I will try and replace the 3" drop coils with some heavy duty coils and try and raise the front that way. Now the challenge will be to find the coils!!
BuMMer!!!!!! Mine didn't fit either..... It didn't fit into my budget that is. So for now, I am going to pass on the straight axle conversion.

So I am forced to go with option #2..... After some serious laying under the Opel time, tape measure in hand checking out the front suspension there is a lot of little things that can be improved. Especially the front part of the stock frame where none of the 2x3 sub frame was added. I guess the reasoning was the engine is setback so far that the 2x3 did not need to be extended for the entire length of the original frame.

My original option #2 was something the previous owner wanted to do (in addition to swapping in a 4 speed tranny) was to place a 3-4" spacer block between the mounting brackets of the rack & pinion. Amazingly, the entire front suspension is held to the frame by only 4 BOLTS!!!!